A Little About Me

Hi everybody, to start off with a bit of a formal introduction, my name is Dan Penney and I am a junior here at the University of Pittsburgh. My major is in Global Management and I am minoring in both the German Language and Economics. Over the past few years, I have had the opportunity to work alongside friends to create businesses in agriculture, website design, and media production. Entrepreneurship is my passion and I hope to pursue it far into the future.

In my free time, I’m about getting out and having fun. That has meant, exploring Pittsburgh’s restaurants, museums, and sporting events as well as the awesome parks and beautiful rivers that are in the surrounding areas. Berlin’s museums, monuments, shops, and restaurants are where you’ll most likely find me over the weekends abroad. I have loved living in a city and look forward to my time spent discovering what Berlin has to offer, but the hiking, kayaking, and biking are what I am looking forward to the most. I am an outdoorsman down to my core and I know Berlin is going to be a great place for all three. It’s also going to be exciting meeting everyone that will be going to Berlin from Pitt with this program. I’ll always be down for anything from just grabbing some coffee to visiting whole other cities on the weekends. I am really going for the full experience.

I couldn’t be more ready to head out on this journey abroad; it has been something I’ve wanting to do for some time now. Having studied the German language for about seven years I have gotten to learn a lot about Germany’s customs, culture, and history. The fact that I will be experiencing those things first hand and learning much more is why I chose this program in the first place. I really want to get to know the area and the people, Germany has so many great experiences to offer, I just hope 11 weeks will be long enough to see it all.

As for the actual internship, I will be interning with the company Brili. I accepted this opportunity because I felt that it was unique to who I am as a person. The company is comprised of only 4 mostly part-time employees, which is most likely very different from the other opportunities my peers have accepted. However, since my experience in business has thus far been working on small teams to develop big projects, I thought It would be the perfect fit. Brili is an app that helps children that have been diagnosed with ADHS/ADHD and their parents develop a routine to help them get through the many distractions of the day. From what I have seen so far and the conversations I have had, the team sounds incredible.  I just hope that I can help to make the app and its service more rewarding and special to the children then it already it is.